SQL Server DBA / SQLServer_ExamProgress

Exam 70-462 Progress

Now that I am embarking on the exciting career path of a SQL Server DBA, obtaining my Microsoft MCSA certification is top priority. There are a number of exams I need to pass in order to get the MCSA qualification:

  • Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Exam 70-461)
  • Administering Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Databases (Exam 70-462)
  • Implementing a Data Warehouse with Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Exam 70-463)

Exam 70-462, Administering Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Databases is my major focus for the next few months. This series of blogs will track my progress through the practice exams as I go.

So far, I have read over the first chapter which is all about planning and preparing to install SQL Server. I haven’t done any of the practice labs yet – but that is a task for this weekend. Below is my first attempt at a practice test for the “Install & Configure” and “Manage Data” objectives of the exam. This is my ‘baseline’, hopefully this graph will go up and up until I am ready to sit the exam proper.

chart19122013

Timeline
The MCSA certification is an important goal post in my job. However, the emphasis is on being able to apply the theory to real-world problems, so I have a bit of time up my sleeves. All going well, I am aiming to sit the Querying exam by the end of Jan 2014, spend the months up until Easter on the Administration exam and sit the Data Warehousing exam by the start of Spring 2014.

Leave a Reply

