Uncategorized

Human Programming

Studied chemistry during my undergrad, and am now studying I.T. I was lucky to work in biochemistry / physical chemistry for a time and was particularly interested in the analysis and manipulation of scientific data. During this time I was exposed to fortran, perl and python. Python appealed to me in particular.

One of the aspects I like most about python, is the ability to structure your code in a way that closely reflects your thinking. Ironically, as I grow more comfortable with python my ‘thinking’ is being bent – and is itself becoming more pythonic. More and more I observe personal computing breaking down the ‘tech’ barrier, and the use of technology is becoming increasingly intuitive. I would like to think that programming might one day become similarly intuitive. Whether it is scientific computing or database design, it would be wonderful to one-day see the programming interface truly reflect the way humans think about information. Wouldn’t it be fantastic to remove ‘the rules’ and provide an avenue for the audacity of Beethoven? Or perhaps Debussy, who’s maverick harmonics and poignant ‘timelessness’ set the romantic world afire?

There is some great work out there and truly progressive research. I am excited to see where the future will take us and hopefully, I might play a small part in sculpting it.

 Everybody can play the keys of a piano but, not very many can make it sound like a real concert. And, I think computers are still too much that way… anyone can pound on the keys or click on the mouse but the people who really become good do amazing things with computers. We need to get beyond that stage… As computer technology improves, it at least creates the potential for somebody to come along with a radically new idea. Then you shift to a completely different model on computing, and then the complexity gets masked.

– Craig Mundie, Are Computers Becoming too Complicated?, Discovery.com, http://dsc.discovery.com/tv-shows/curiosity/topics/craig-mundie-computers-too-complicated.htm

So… what’s next?

Leave a Reply

