Uncategorized

Because Windows Wouldn’t

tux_breaks_windows

 

 

NET 601, IPv6 and Hurricane Electric. If you haven’t burned the midnight oil and flipped out at your Window’s    machine for a while, then I highly recommend the NET 601, IPv6 and Hurricane Electric experience. For us I.T. people who take pride in being exceptional at solving the computer world’s problems, this is a challenge not to be missed. After a week of frustration and inconsistent results, I am experiencing two big problems:

 

a)    Slow DNS refreshing at Hurricane Electric

b)    Windows 7 Home Edition – not web server friendly 😦

After trying different computers, different physical locations (therefore host networks) and uninstall / reinstall cycles, I am no closer to that elusive “IPv6 Sage”. The following few posts will describe my workarounds, and the utter joy of working in a Linux environment. So it is out the window with Windows, and just me and my Ubuntu baby. Locked, loaded and ready to dominate the IPv6 world!

The BIG FIX – why I am using Linux

UBUNTU 12.04, Quantal Quetzal

I’m not going to sit here and pontificate about the virtues of Linux (and especially Ubuntu ;p ), but let’s face it; if Windows Wouldn’t, then there is a very good chance that Linux already has! It’s the beauty of choice, that liberating freedom of flexibility and desire. And of course, there is an incredible support community out there. More than that, Linux and Apache currently power more than 43 million websites! It is a hardened performer.

The BIG FIX – test, test, test

If I am right about Hurricane Electric’s slow DNS refresh rate, then just using Linux is not going to fix 3 day delays I have had to navigate. To get around this, I am going to develop everything first and thoroughly test it to make sure it is up and running. When i am confident that i have a working Apache Server and PostFix email server, then and ONLY then will I go through HE’s certificate.

The following posts will cover:

i)    setting up IPv6 – over – UDP – over – IPv4 tunneling (using wither miredo or gogo) & TESTING IT

ii)   setting up Apache web server & TESTING IT

iii)  setting up PostFix Email server & TESTING IT

But for tonight, I am going back to my Ubuntu box and might just turn this server into a Home Media Centre. Why? Because Windows Wouldn’t!

3 thoughts on “Because Windows Wouldn’t

    • Lol, I feel your pain! Did manage to get past Explorer and Enthusiast using Windows 8, on the HP Laptop from NMIT.

      Explorer – open Ipv6 over Ipv4 tunnel:
      Open UDP port 3653:
      (gogo tunnels over UDP, so this is kind of key!)
      go to start screen, type ‘fire’ and open Windows Firewall (under settings)
      go to advanced options and create a new inbound rule:
      select Port, hit ‘next’
      select UDP at top of screen, and at ‘specific port locals’ enter 3653
      follow all prompts (netxt, next, next…)
      do the same for outgoing rules
      Install gogo, reset default settings (i.e. use anonymous authentication).
      Connect.
      Under status, you should see your local end point address etc.

      TEST IT!
      open a command prompt, and type: ping -6 ipv6.google.com
      open browser and navigate to: http://www.v6.facebook.com
      go to http://ipv6-test.com/ and go to the ‘Connection Test Tab’it will tell you very quickly whether you are IPv4 or IPv6, or both, able.

      That will pass Explorer for you.

      Enthusiast:
      go to godaddy.com and get your own domain
      Launch godaddy’s DNS manager and find the AAAA record
      click ‘quick add’and fill in the following fields:
      host: @
      points to: ‘your local end point address’
      you can copy this from Gogo Status, or use the address shown in http://ipv6-test.com/
      SAVE

      Start IIS in Windows 8 (can’t remember how to do this, but Sams guide is prett straight forward on this)

      TEST IT!!!!
      Go back to http://ipv6-test.com/, and use the ‘Website Test’, enter your domain name and should be all good 🙂

      At this stage, I wouldn’t do anything at Hurricane Electric! I think their DNS server takes 3 days to refresh 😦 So get it all going first, and then go to the cert.

      Administrator:
      Set up your email server. Apache James was straight forward. Again, Sam’s guide was great.
      I did this at home, on Linux and I made a couple of tweaks:
      email address: I used ‘username’@mydomain.info
      where username is my username on my computer (nburns, in my case)
      my domain = nicknet6.info
      password: I used the login password for my computer user account
      Thunderbird setup very easily with these settings:
      Your name – enter something
      email: nburns@nicknet6.info
      password: ‘waffle waffle waffle’
      Incoming: IMAP, host: 127.0.0.1 (local loopback) port 143, Security: STARTTLS
      Outgoing: SMTP, host: 127.0.0.1, port 25, STARTTLS

      TEST IT!!!
      Send yourself an email, it should show up in your inbox.

      This is where I am at at the moment. Going to test it on the HE Cert this morning and see how it goes. But all tests well, and seems completely operational.

      (note, I have setup a 2nd domain and 2nd user with HE Cert because I want to avoid any old DNS settings they might still have.)

      Good luck!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

